World Athletics Championships: Disappointment for India as Jyothi Yarraji fails to qualify for 100m hurdles semis

In Budapest on August 23, Jyothi Yarraji, a hurdler from India, did not qualify for the semifinals of the World Athletics Championships. She came in seventh place in her heat and 29th overall, with a time of 13. 05 The top four finishers in each heat and the four fastest other athletes qualified for the semifinals, with the last qualifier having a time of 12. 92 Kendra Harrison of the USA, who won a silver medal in the Tokyo Olympics, had the fastest time of 12. 24 seconds in the semifinal qualifiers. In the men’s 800m race, Krishan Kumar also did not qualify for the semifinals, finishing in seventh place with a time of one minute and 50. 36 He achieved his best time in the 800m race, which is 1 minute and 45. 88 In the men’s 800m semifinals, the top three finishers from each heat and the three fastest athletes from the remaining heats qualified, making a total of 24 athletes. Yarraji, the current Asian champion, was expected to at least qualify for the semifinals in the World Championships. However, she did not meet those expectations in her first race of the Championships. She recently became the first Indian athlete to win a gold medal in the women’s 100m hurdles in the Asian Championships. Indian athletes so far have not performed well in the World Championships. On the first day, Avinash Sable, the national record holder in the 3000m steeplechase, finished seventh in his heat race and did not qualify for the final round. In the men’s 20km race walk final, three Indian athletes finished last, and Shaili Singh did not qualify for the women’s long jump final. Ajay Kumar Saroj ran his best time in the men’s 1500m heats but did not qualify for the semifinals. None of the three Indian athletes in the men’s triple jump (Praveen Chithravel, Eldhose Paul, and Abdulla Aboobacker) made it to the final round. On Sunday, Santhosh Kumar Tamilarasan and Sarvesh Anil Kushare were eliminated in the 400m hurdles heat race and high jump qualification round respectively. Please rewrite the provided text so that it uses simpler words.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *