Tour De France: Jasper Philipsen emerges from crashes to win

On July 4, Belgian Jasper Philipsen won his second consecutive stage of the Tour de France amidst a chaotic scene as multiple cyclists fell while riding on the final circuit. Australian Caleb Ewan came in second, followed by German Phil Bauhaus in third, and British Adam Yates still retained the leader’s yellow jersey. Most of the day was spent with the peloton riding at a slow pace, but the end of the 182km journey from Dax to Paul Armagnac racing track got hectic. On the right-hand bend with 1.5km left, European champion Fabio Jakobsen crashed, with his Quick Step-Alpha Vinyl teammate Julian Alaphilippe saying they were taken by surprise by the turns. In the last kilometer, six riders fell, but Philipsen was still able to take the win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *