BCCI appoints Ajit Agarkar as chief selector of Indian men’s cricket team

On Tuesday, Jay Shah, the secretary of the BCCI, announced that former India cricketer Ajit Agarkar has been appointed as the Chairman of the Senior Men’s Selection Panel, as recommended by the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC). This had originally been reported by PTI last week. The CAC, consisting of Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape, interviewed Agarkar and unanimously recommended him for the position. His seniority, based on the total number of Test matches he has played, also led to his selection for the role of Chairperson. Agarkar has appeared in 191 ODIs, 26 Tests, and 4 T20Is, as well as in the 1999, 2003, and 2007 ODI World Cups, and the 2007 World T20 winning Indian team. His remuneration is expected to be higher than the current paycheck of Rs 1 crore for the Chairman of Selectors, while the other members of the committee receive Rs 90 lakh each. Agarkar is overseas at the moment, but is expected to chair the selection committee meeting for the T20I squad that will play in the West Indies later this week. As there was no notable name from the North Zone who was suitable for the post, the BCCI is breaking its tradition of appointing one selector from each of the five zones, meaning that West Zone will have two selectors, with Salil Ankola being the other.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *