England announces their squad for T20 series against WI, uncapped seamer David Payne included in the squad

Uncapped left-arm seamer David Payne has acquired a lady call-up to England’s T20I crew for the West Indies series. Britain’s selectors declared a 16-man crew that will be driven by Eoin Morgan for the five-match series.

Payne, 30, was named in England’s ODI crew recently later England’s best option crew needed to enter detachment in front of the series against Pakistan. The Gloucestershire seamer didn’t play a game in that series yet partook in a good homegrown mission, taking 12 wickets from 9 games at 8.83ER. He additionally took six wickets in the debut period of The Hundred playing for the Welsh Fire.

Paul Collingwood will remain in as lead trainer for the series that will be played in Barbados without any Chris Silverwood who is in Australia right now, while Marcus Trescothick will join the crew as collaborator mentor. Of the 16 players named, 11 were at the T20 World Cup barring those presently in Australia for the Ashes. Among those passing up a major opportunity are Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes, Tom Curran and David Willey.

Read Also : BBL 2021-22 : Ben Duckett stars as Brisbane Heat pick up second win

“We have chosen a solid crew with some genuine batting power and a decent assault as we start arrangements in front of the T20 World Cup in Australia,” Collingwood said. “The World Cup is under a year away and there will be expanded freedoms for the crew without those players who are with the Ashes crew.

“I have great recollections winning a World Cup in Barbados and I’m truly anticipating returning there with this crew to confront an excellent West Indies who will test all parts of our abilities.”

The series starts on January 22 and will continue until January 30. The crew for the ensuing three-Test series will be named in due time. The series is planned to start in Antigua on March 8.

Read Also : Harbhajan Singh announces his retirement from all forms of cricket

Squad : Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, George Garton, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Tymal Mills, David Payne, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *