Rohit, Pant, Bumrah and Shami rested for NZ Tests, Rahane to lead in 1st test against NZ

India will be without Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami in the impending two-match Test series against their kindred Test Championship finalists New Zealand, beginning November 25 in Kanpur.

The group of four has been refreshed as a piece of their responsibility the executives notwithstanding customary captain Virat Kohli, who will return on schedule for the second Test in Mumbai, beginning December 3. The speed team and Kohli, who as of late surrendered T20I captaincy, have as of now been refreshed for the three-match white-ball series which goes before the Tests.

Ajinkya Rahane will lead India in Kohli’s nonattendance, with Cheteshwar Pujara being named his representative.

Uncapped in Tests, Shreyas Iyer could be in line for his red-ball debut subsequent to acquiring the call-up to the side that sees a few new faces. Andhra wicketkeeper-bat Srikar Bharat, who was a reserve for COVID-recuperated Wriddhiman Saha for the England visit recently, has been added to the crew now, while a rebound in the whites is on the cards for opener Shubhman Gill, who last played in the WTC finale.

Read Also : NZ’s Devon Conway ruled out of World Cup final, India T20Is

Suryakumar Yadav, Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari and Abhimanyu Easwaran, who were all essential for the ensuing Test series, against England, have been forgotten about from the 16-part list, alongside Shardul Thakur, who will be down and out from the previous T20Is too.

Uncapped Prasidh Krishna, who was advanced from the stores on the England visit, has held his position in the crew that sees the rebound of offspinning allrounder Jayant Yadav to the public overlap since last taking field for India in the Pune Test against Australia in 2017. His consideration returns on the of a drawn out downtime for Washington Sundar ,who is yet to completely recuperate from a finger injury supported in July, in front of the England Tests.

Read Also : ICC T20 World Cup : Matthew Wade, Marcus Stoinis heroics in the end helps Australia enters the final

India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain first Test), Virat Kohli (Rested for first Test, Captain for second) KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

One thought on “Rohit, Pant, Bumrah and Shami rested for NZ Tests, Rahane to lead in 1st test against NZ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *